“Yes, We’re Open”

Last week has been all about catching up after being gone 3 weeks shooting this awesome new project called, “Yes, We’re Open“.

It’s a romantic comedy about a couple (Luke & Sylvia) exploring an open relationship.  It’s funny, sad, serious and bizarre all rolled into one.  It’s the meaty role that I’ve been waiting for about 10 years to tackle.

But the first thing was not learning the lines.  Oh, no, no, no , no.  Screw that.  There were a lot of shirtless moments in the script for my “Luke” character.

So the first order of business was to hit the gym.  Like hard.  Like training to be Batman hard – 45 min weight/30 min cardio combo everyday for a month until the cameras rolled (and during).

That way even if the end result was, “meh” – I could at least honestly look my grandkids in the eyes and say, “Well, sadly that’s all Grandpa’s 37 yr-old body was capable of.”

Why I’d be watching a movie about infidelity with my grandkids?  Perhaps a question for another day.  But for now, I digress.

Next order of business was hearing the lines alongside with my YWO girlfriend “Sylvia”/longtime pal, Lynn Chen.

Again, being a laggard when it comes to technology – Lynn intro’d me to the rehearsal process in the 2.0 world via Skype.

It’s always a weird thing to have intimate scenes but especially with someone you already know so well.

But in the end, that stuff was only maybe 5% of the movie.  The huge advantage from us already knowing each other was that our chemistry (I think) was instantly believable as a couple.  Not wasting time to establish familiarity, thinking of back story reasons to want to hang out with this person, etc – was invaluable.

Cuz if the audience ain’t onboard with the illusion, it’s pretty much an uphill battle from the word ‘go’ (ie: see Eric Bana and Drew Barrymore in “Lucky You” – did he even like her?)


Lynn did a great job blogging about the YWO experience, mostly from the food perspective on her food blog — but I’ll be coming at it from an alternate view in the next few entries.

In the meantime, here’s a teaser that the writer HP Mendoza made (when I first saw this, the dialogue in it was literally shot the day before!)

Yes, We’re Open (Teaser) from H.P. Mendoza on Vimeo.

18 thoughts on ““Yes, We’re Open”

  1. yeah, can’t wait to watch this.
    i watched another movie about open relationship (because of the actors, not so much the story) called “lie to me” (also known as “fling”). the emotions in those movies are complicated!

  2. Pingback: Back on Target | The Actor's Diet

  3. I follow Lynn’s blog, so it’s really interesting to read about the filming experience from another perspective 🙂

    • I’ve worked with a trainer in the past and have done bootcamp a few times, so I’m pretty well informed of what I needs to be done (switching up exercises to prevent plateauing, diet, etc). I feel once you have the foundation down, mostly after that point the trainer is just there to be a motivator but knowing that film is forever was motivator enough to get me over to the gym at 8am on a Sunday.

  4. Will the movie be screening internationally/available on DVD? I’d love to see it when it’s released, but I’m guessing it might not come to New Zealand other than by DVD purchase?

  5. Pingback: YWO – Part 2 – MacGyver’n it | Parry Shen's Blog

  6. Pingback: Behind the Scenes – Let’s Hear It For the Boys | Yes We're Open

  7. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

